Posted in Uncategorized

Help

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. Yes, I know, I only just posted but this post kind of needs to go up. Now. I really need any of the help and advice I can get, I’m sort of having friendship problems I think…. Okay…. I’ll give you a backstory..

So, if you read my post on Changing then you’ll know that I was betrayed, and had literally one friend (that I never seemed to be able to find at lunch and breaks) when I started high school so I was usually alone. If you’ve ever been alone then you’ll know how awful it feels. But after a year I ended up with some friends. To be specific – A Squad. There are 5 of us. Everything was going really well (I had friends finally) until early on in the Summer holidays. Let’s call her Regina.

Anyways, Regina started to seem like she was trying to start arguments at any chance she could. This wasn’t face-to-face by the way. Our squad have a WhatsApp group chat. And at first, I tried to pretend that it was just a phase, and that it would blow over soon. But it didn’t.

After a week, I decided to single message her on WhatsApp, asking her to stop, because the rest of the group didn’t need to be constantly having their notifications full of arguments. And so I didn’t have to feel like I was going to end up with no friends again. I seriously didn’t want to end up back there. And she replied. Saying that we could start over. No more arguments. And I was really happy! Everything was getting a little better! 🙂

But after 2 weeks, she had already started to be subtly insulting, or trying to start arguments. Usually, I would just ignore the messages. But it got to the point where I was getting really annoyed. So I private messaged her again, asking her what had happened to what she had said them 2 weeks ago. And she blamed it on ‘that time of the month’. So, I just sort of accepted that.

But it carried on. And I’m quite sure her lady time doesn’t last the whole month. And does that even make it acceptable to constantly argue or disagree with anything someone says? I didn’t see her doing it to anyone else….

Particularly today, she has been being quite insulting… I had been to Primark. And bought a Harry Potter T-shirt. I absolutely love Harry Potter so I was quite excited, and asked the squad to guess what I found in Primark. After a bit of them guessing, I sent a picture of the T-shirt, and one of my friends replied with positively, about how she liked it and had some similar ones (she loves Harry Potter too). Regina, on the other hand, replied with ‘…’. Followed by wow. And then telling me about how everyone in the UK knows that there are Harry Potter T-shirts in Primark. And that she was disappointed. So I replied saying that I was just quite excited and she said: “Well I guess you don’t really go to Primark much then” which she knows (it’s true). I replied saying that I hardly ever go into the town centre. And the next thing she said was actually quite insulting. She said: “Or anywhere else”.

I was actually quite offended by that, and replied saying that I do go to places. And she simply replied with “Sims” – which all of my friends know is by far my favourite game. Although I would say sims does take up a fraction of my life, it isn’t my whole life (which I said on the group chat). And with that, I left my phone upstairs for a bit.

Later on, when people were talking about what they plan on doing tomorrow, I said that my sister’s boyfriend (he can be called Dave. He isn’t actually by the way) was coming to our house for the night. And Regina replied with: “Don’t know who Dave is. Don’t need to know.” Which was a bit over the line in my opinion…. And after then, a lot of the things that I said, she replied with either “Umm” or “K”.

Even later on, I was talking – well, texting – about my dog, and how cute she was. And Regina said “Good for you”. And in a separate message “FOR YOU”. Basically saying that she doesn’t care about what I have to say. Why should I listen to and reply to what she says if she doesn’t for me?

It is really starting to get on my nerves now. I can’t exactly say I don’t want to be her friend – I do! But even if I didn’t, she is in the squad, and I am too. So everything would just be more awkward…. And I definitely can’t just leave the squad. I have no other friends at my school. And I suck at making friends….

Does anyone have any advice??? Have you ever been in a situation like this? Thank you so much if you know anything that might help! I should be back to my positive self again in my next post!  🙂

BYE! 🙂

Just Average Teen Me

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

5 thoughts on “Help

  1. I would suggest creating another group chat with the other people in the squad (unless they seem to be taking sides with Regina) and asking them if they had noticed. Tell them its bothering you, and if they are real friends, they will stand up for you against Regina, and she will understand that what she is doing is wrong. I hope this helps, best of luck to you!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First you need to figure out if anyone else in the group is annoyed with Regina’s comments. Maybe they see them as funny and sarcastic and don’t mind them. That way, if you’re all on the same page, maybe you all can approach her together.
    Also, you can be friends with someone without being their best friend. So don’t worry about being alone at school because even if you’re not BFFs with people, you can still be in their presence.
    As for making friends, I suck at it too, and I’m learning to get better at it, but one thing I’ve been trying to tell myself is that friends, while great, are just means to fill a void. So if you busy yourself with books or TV shows or blogs or online friends or something, then you feel less lonely and empty.
    Hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

