Posted in Uncategorized

Feminism

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. First of all, I’m sorry I haven’t been commenting on posts lately, I’ve been all over the internet, except for WordPress…. I know, well done Jatm but hey, I’m back now.

 Today I wanted to talk about feminism for a few reasons. The first being that I actually don’t know much about it and I might do a little internet research and the second being that most of the people that read my blog are probably girls. So it applies to us.

So, I went and searched the exact definition of feminism, and it is:

“Feminism

NOUN

the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.
synonyms: the women’s movement · the feminist movement”
So feminism is all about women being equal to men, having the same rights and being able to do the same things.
Personally, I don’t actually feel too passionately towards the topic, mainly because I haven’t been affected by it much; I can’t peg down a specific moment where I was looked down on or mistreated because I’m a girl. But I know that some of you might be more into subjects like this, so I thought it would be worth a discussion on my blog.
To start off, I do actually think that some people take being a ‘so-called feminist’ too far. When I say this, I mean to the point of forgetting that men also have feelings. They want equal rights too, and not all of them are against women. Obviously. Being a feminist is about wanting EQUAL rights for BOTH men and women! Not more rights for women.
A while ago, and a long time before that, women were seen as property. As if they were some sort of object that couldn’t make her own choices, and couldn’t look after herself alone. In some places this still happens now. But most of where I really thought about it was in a couple weeks of English. Desdemona, a female character in the play Othello, was seen to be incapable of choosing who the man she loved was. And was a disgrace to her father for doing so. The play was written by Shakespeare in the very early 1600s. 400 years ago, it was happening. So why is it still happening in places?
Women’s rights have come a long way since then, with being allowed a job, a vote and a say in how the country is run, but it isn’t quite gone yet. With a lot of things that children see, it already plants into their heads that a woman needs a strong man, with countless Disney Princess movies. Although Frozen was actually an exception. As much of a ‘not-so-gigantic fan’ I am (don’t judge me I had two younger sisters singing the songs like it was their religion for months), it is good for little girls to have an idol to look up to that doesn’t need a man.
So, my thoughts on feminism are kind of balanced. I’m not being affected by it as of right now, but I would consider myself a feminist because I know that people are being affected, and it is not right. But I think that we need to remember the other side of things sometimes.
What do you think?
Thank you SO much for reading! Make sure to like and follow if you like my blog and leave any thoughts or suggestions in the comments!
BYE! 😀
Just Average Teen Me
Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

7 thoughts on “Feminism

  1. I have found that a lot of people I talk to think that feminism is about women hating men, and wanting women to have all the rights, which in fact is completely wrong. I agree with you, in that some people take feminism too far, but I do see lots of women treated less than men in my daily life (I’m not sure if it’s because of where I live or something). But the pay gap between women and men in America is quite frustrating to me, because a women is just as smart or capable as any man. Also, lots of men like to treat women as sexual objects, or simply as objects of beauty, when really we are a lot more. I loved your post, and thought it brought up some good points. Sorry for the rant 🙂 ~Keelin

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This post was really interesting – especially because I’m also studying Othello in school and because I’ve actually just been to see the National Theatre’s As You Like It: Rosalind is the main character but she spends most of the play pretending to be a man, and being a man better than some of the male characters in the play. Also, from a Jewish perspective feminism is interesting because people often say Judaism is sexist because there are lots of commandments just for men or just for women but I think in Judaism men and women are seen as equal, just different.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Feminism is definitely one of the causes I feel most passionate about – it might seem like nowadays everything is pretty much fine, but women are still up against a lot (obviously men are in some ways too) and this needs changing. From the pay gap – it’s still nearly 20% in the UK, which is shocking – to the lack of education in less developed countries, to sexual violence and domestic abuse, there is a lot that still affects women’s lives negatively, and doesn’t affect men. And then there are all the societal pressures about appearance and roles, and the countless sexist jokes I hear every day at school. There is far more to be fixed than many people like to believe. x

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

