Posted in Uncategorized

What is a Friend?

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. And since the thought poofed into my mind, I thought I’d talk to you guys about how I see friends and friendships.

First of all, I am extremely frustrated right now, because I spent at least 2 hours making a very pretty sim (game) and then it crashed and didn’t save.

Anyways. Let’s get onto the post.

Personally, I find it very difficult to fully trust someone. But by trust, what do we actually mean? There are some things I would trust people with, but others, I never tell anyone. Some people might think that it’s not good to be so untrusting, and secretive I guess you could say, but before you jump to things like that, it’s important to consider what could have happened before.

Earlier in my life, I’ve gone through things that make it difficult for me to trust people, or completely open up to them. Being betrayed or suddenly ignored for someone who you expected to be friends with your whole life, who you have told countless secrets, is bound to leave some sort of impact on you. Letting out those secrets isn’t as easy when the paranoia of people not liking you is always lurking. What if they’re the same?

I found, a friend isn’t someone that you trust. But if it is, then you’re very lucky. The only person I probably trust is Bob. Mainly because he’s told me secrets and I know I can trust him to keep mine. As for my other friends, it kind of terrifies me sometimes, that the truth will slip out to someone else, and then everyone will know. I guess you could call this thing I have some sort of social anxiety but I live with it.

Some people find that a friend doesn’t have to be someone you have known for a long time, but for me, I never know at what point to call someone a friend. Usually, the people that have stuck by me for the longest prove to be my ‘friends’. Bob. He is the person I have known for the longest, and stayed friends with. But I think what makes him my best friend, is that sometimes, we’re apart for almost a year (at one point it was more than a year) because we go to different schools, but when we get back together, it’s like we never had that gap. No awkward silences. Just crazy intense catching up. And I can completely be myself.

Friends don’t have to be in real life either. Take the blogging world for example, I see all of you guys as friends! You’ve helped me with so much stuff, and I can’t think why I shouldn’t see you as my friends!

What do you think?

Thank you SO much for reading! Make sure to like and follow if you like my blog and leave any thoughts or suggestions in the comments!

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

 

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

2 thoughts on “What is a Friend?

Leave a Reply

