Posted in Uncategorized

Writing is Powerful

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. So, this post will probably be a little shorter than normal, but I just wanted to discuss something with you all.

Do you ever write creatively to get your emotions out?

I hadn’t done before, but well, it’s probably best to show you…

Space slowly narrowing, forcing the increase of your heart rate. Nothing is really changing, but so much feels different. Pressure squeezes your hands into fists, nails delving into your clammy palms, knuckles drained lifeless. Layers of echoing sounds stack up, towering over you until they morph into one. One intimidating, formidable sphere, stalking your most miniscule twitches.

Fight or flight. Neither will suffice. Even if you could try. Fighting would be hopeless, as would flight; untamed, unexplained nerves wracking your brain makes it difficult to focus – let alone move for that matter. In an instant you find the weapons to take you to safety: a pen and a worn out notebook. Slowly, the spine-chilling dictator of your anxieties is liquidised and flows from your pen, into words.

First of all, I know I’m not the best writer…. I don’t write that often, outside of school which is probably why.

If you didn’t realise, I was trying to describe how I felt, which at the time, was quite claustrophobic and anxious for not much of a reason. I didn’t know why I felt like that, but It wasn’t making me happy. So, I decided to try and write. Obviously, I wasn’t trying to write a best selling novel, or whack Shakespeare off the board – I just wanted to get my emotions out.

The point of this post is, that after writing that, I felt so much better. I don’t know if it was a psychological thing, because I was writing about the feelings going away, but somehow it helped. After all of that, I felt much happier, much less squashed, and much more like me.

So, if you ever find yourself in a place where your emotions aren’t feeling great, maybe you could have a go at writing? If it worked for me, there’s a possibility it could work for you! Trust me, the 5-10 minutes I spent writing that were SO worth the hours of feeling better afterwards!

Let me know if you guys do this sort of thing?

Thank you SO much for reading! Make sure to like and follow if you like my blog and leave any thoughts or suggestions in the comments!

BYE! πŸ˜€

Just Average Teen Me

P.S. Sorry for all the rambling πŸ™‚

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

6 thoughts on “Writing is Powerful

  1. Aaaaah, I haven`t commented for such a long time! But better late than never, eh? πŸ˜‰ I loved this post! Be confident, woman. I write down my feelings too, as it`s comforting and encouraging. You`re never alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

