Posted in Uncategorized

Exercise?

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. First of all, no, this post won’t be me trying to be all fitness-y and cringey ( I hope). But I do want to talk to you all about exercising, and fitness habits and whatnot.

This time last year, the only exercise I ever did would have been P.E. lessons, and the odd walk with my family. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t necessarily need to be exercising, as in it wasn’t causing any weight problems of such (I think I have high metabolism or something anyway).

As of right now, I do exercise. Without the whole gym and fitbit and stuff. I think it started earlier on in the school year, possibly shortly after Halloween? Anyways, at first, I think I was finding random routines online. Most of them consisted of crunches (in a variety of the world’s most awkward positions), squats (which kill me) and pushups (which I literally cannot do to save my life). So as you can see, those weren’t too helpful for me. Basically, it meant that I’d wake up with sore legs, not be able to even walk comfortably (it got so bad I could barely bend to sit down) and then making me not want to do it ever again.

After then, I kind of left it for a bit, and picked it up about a month later. I started to make my own routine, and listen to music. Having music was definitely a step in the right direction. First off, it means you can just go for about 4 minutes and then be done (I normally just do one song) and second, you can plan the different ‘moves’ (I have no clue what to call them) for certain parts of the song. From there, I kind of ended up with whatever it is that I do now. Obviously, I’m no fitness expert, and I have no clue if half of what I’m doing is actually benefitting me in any way, shape or form, but just in case you’re wondering, here’s what I do.

A couple of months ago, I used Taylor Swift’s Better Than Revenge, because it’s super powerful, and at the time, I could really relate to it (I still do now, just I’ve branched out to other music). As of now, I use Rest Your Love – The Vamps. It’s super upbeat, has a friendlier message, unlike the Taylor Swift one, and it has a comfortable beat throughout that you can use.

Normally, I’ll do all of this stuff on my bed, because my floor is kind of messy, not to mention I probably can’t lie flat along it anyway (my room’s pretty small) and I don’t actually own a workout mat.

Intro

For this part of the song, I’ll do some form of crunches. I’m probably not doing it right, but it feels like it’s working

Verse 1

Sit ups, with a little twist. Now, as I’m sure my excellent use of intriguing the audience (don’t worry I’m being sarcastic) worked on you all, the twist is that I have my feet up on the banister of my bed? I’m not sure how to explain it, other than my knees are at a 90 degree angle and I just lift my shoulders up and touch my toes with my fingers. Over and over again.

Chorus

For the chorus, I do leg lifts, pretty standard. If you don’t know what that is, it’s basically where you lie flat, and lift your legs up and down.

Verse 2 is the same as 1

Bridge

For the bridge, I go into a plank position (top of a press up) and alternately touch my elbow with the opposite knee. So, right knee touches left elbow. I’ll try to keep up with the beat of the music for this one, as tiring as it can be.

Aaand that is how I do that one! Also, sometimes I like to see how long I can plank for. Just in case you’re wondering, my record is 2:03 minutes, which I am actually quite impressed by. 😀

Walking a dog is a great way to keep moving too! Especially up hills and through the woods!

Do you exercise? And what are your methods?

Thank you SO much for reading! Make sure to like and follow if you like my blog and leave any thoughts or suggestions in the comments!

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

 

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

4 thoughts on “Exercise?

Leave a Reply

