Posted in Uncategorized

Unnecessary Slutshaming | Feminism #2

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. I plan on this post being a little shorter than normal, but since it’s a debatable topic, I’m hoping a lot of it can be in the comments.

As I write this, it’s 23rd June 2016, release date of Fifth Harmony’s ‘All in my Head’ music video. For those of you that don’t already know, I’m a fairly big 5H fan. After watching the video (which was amazing, by the way – what else is to expect?) I was thinking about how much the girls SLAYED throughout the whole entire video. So, I sent a few screenshots of it to a couple of my friends. Mainly Camila, and captioned it:

“Can we talk about Camila slaying everything in the new video? <3”

The response disgusted me. And to think that these are my friends is even worse. Before I get into it, I might just put in a screenshot here:

Camila.png

As you can see, she’s on a beach. A BEACH. And she’s wearing beach appropriate clothes. I take that back – She’s ROCKING beach appropriate clothes.

Anyway, within a minute of sending them, Penny replied with:

“Eew… She looks like a slut. Like that pic? No no no.” And Brittany replied to those with “Lol”. Some of you might think I’m overreacting, but I was horrified with that. Are girls not allowed to show skin? Can they not wear clothes that they look and feel beautiful in? Even somewhere like a beach?

I thought that from people who are also girls, and feminists at that, they should respond much more positively. Or at least respectfully. Nobody should be treated like that. After 10 minutes of me quite clearly ignoring them (it’s WhatsApp so they probably saw that I’d seen it) Penny decided to acknowledge it. With this:

“Sorry for calling her a slut. I just don’t think she looks very pretty tbh” It’s safe to say, I still think that what she said was terribly wrong, but I told her – rather smugly – that the apology was accepted.

Nobody should be called a slut, for dressing how they want. It’s ridiculous.

For anyone who’s interested in watching the video, here’s the YouTube link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsbeemdD2rQ

Make sure to add to the discussion in the comments and share any experiences or opinions you might have! Thanks for reading!

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

3 thoughts on “Unnecessary Slutshaming | Feminism #2

Leave a Reply

