Posted in Uncategorized

Kicking Hay Fever’s Butt

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. As it’s Summer – well, it’s rainy but what can you expect with England – I’m assuming that a good few of you guys are also being slowly murdered by the demon that is hay fever

When I was younger, I never, ever got hay fever. But in the last two years, I’ve had it pretty bad. Clueless to what changed, I was thrown into the world of stacked tissues and empty pill boxes – alone, somehow expected to survive. So, in this post, I thought I would share some of the ways that I have dealt with the intense sniffles and sneezes I’ve been exploding with for the last couple of weeks.

TAKE ANTIHISTAMINES AKA HAY FEVER TABLETS

Obviously, it’s logical to just have your medicine, so that the runny nose becomes somewhat bearable and the sneezes are mildly tamed. Also, make sure you don’t miss out a day, because that will end disastrously.

TISSUES ARE YOUR BEST FRIENDS

Honestly, the worst thing when you have hay fever, is to be sat in a silent classroom, as you feel a drip of water-like goop trickle down into your nose. And then when you look into your pockets, there’s no tissues, so you resort to your jumper sleeve, inside the blazer – or wherever else your emergency nose leakage area is. Admit it, we’ve all been there. Just have some tissues on hand if you think you’re going to need them.

STEAMY SHOWERS

I’m sure you’ve all heard it at some point before, but just in case there’s a poor soul sneezing into the hopeless, bleak darkness somewhere, I decided to throw it in. Crank up the heat in your shower, and breathe at ease. I sound like a TV advert… BASICALLY, the steam from the shower really, really, helps to free up some space in your nose and chest for  a while.

DECONGESTANT OILS

Olbas Oil, or Karvol for example. These are honestly life savers. I’d have probably died in my sleep if I hadn’t used any of these (sarcasm, if you didn’t notice). Do you ever have them nights where you literally cannot breathe from your nose, so you have to use your mouth, which a lot of the time, leads to being VERY THIRSTY? Yeah, me too. So, if I know a night will be like that, I’ll sprinkle some of this stuff onto a tissue, and have it next to my bed all night. I’m not entirely sure how they work, but they do!

HOT DRINKS

Similar to the steamy showers, a hot drink can reaaally help with a blocked nose. I’d warm it up slightly hotter than normal, and then hold it until it cools. That way, the steam can get in through your nose and provide some relief like the showers.

PUT SPICES IN EVERYTHING

If you’re a fan of spicy foods, then this trick will work wonders for you. Even without hay fever, people tend to get a sniffley nose if they’ve been eating quite spicy foods. Alternatively, if you’re like me, and aren’t a fan of feeling like your tongue is on fire, I suggest adding cinnamon or ginger to a hot drink. Since I’m allergic to ginger, cinnamon is obviously my best bet. Lemon and honey are good if the hay fever is getting to your throat too!

THE NOSE TEAPOT

Hands up if you’ve ever resorted to Google to see how to not die of hay fever or just congestion in general.

*WAVES HANDS CRAZILY*

If you’re also in that group, you’ve probably seen the nose teapot thing come up in your suggested ways to survive. To be frank, it kind of terrifies me, and I will probably never buy one in my entire life. HOWEVER, if you’re quite the daredevil, or like to stick things up your nose, then this might be for you. I think the gist of it is that you pour this salty water solution into one nostril with a tiny teapot, and then it comes out of the other nostril, supposedly with all of the stuff it encountered on the way… Crazy? I’d say so.

MOVE AROUND

I’m not sure if this is just me, but when my nose is very blocked, and I’ve been sat down for a while, sometimes standing up can clear it out instantly. It works the other way too. If I’ve been stood up for a while, sitting down does the same. Have any of you noticed that?

Those are some of my top tips for how to kick hay fever’s butt, so I hope you got some use out of them. And to anyone suffering from hay fever, GOOD LUCK!

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

 

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

Leave a Reply

