Posted in Uncategorized

Anxieties Away From Home

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. If you haven’t already noticed, I’ve been slightly unacttive here on ze WordPress for the last couple of days. That, my friends, is because I’ve been away for a bit. Not anywhere abroad, and we’ve been several times before, since my Grandma owns a little caravan thing… It isn’t really a caravan… I’ll find a picture somewhere of something similar.

So, as you can see, it’s a good bit smaller than your average house. With a few too many people in one (I have quite a lot of brothers and sisters), it gets very loud, claustrophobic (I have claustrophobia kind of?) and stressful. In the time that I was there, I came up with a few ways to relieve some of the anxiety, and make it more bearable.

If you’re ever in a situation where you feel anxious, away from home, I’m hoping some of these tips might be useful!

Plan Ahead

While you’re packing, make sure you’re taking into consideration things other than clothes. If you’re likely to be feeling stressed, you should probably make sure you take something that’ll give you some sort of escape. I brought the Enchanted Forest colouring book with a pack of coloured pencils.

Know your way around

If it’s a place that you’ve been to before (mine was), then it’s a lot easier to know where you are, obviously. For me, not knowing where I am and how to get somewhere just adds to the stress. A good thing to do is to know the way to one specific place. Say, a shop for example.

Get out and breathe

If you can, going outside is probably the best thing to do when everything gets a bit too intense, and you feel like everything is crushing you. Take slow, deep breaths and enjoy the peace of being away from what it was like inside.

Walk

Sometimes, distracting yourself with a destination outside is a lot more useful than just sitting outside. Knowing your way around really helps with this one. At one point, I think I was verging on another panic attack, so I asked my mum if there was anything she needed from the shops. We were low on water, so that’s what I went to buy. Walking slowly will help to relax you, and give you longer to calm down too. I was out for about 30 minutes, which was more than enough time.

Relaxation techniques

In a situation where you can’t get out, it’s a good idea to try some relaxation techniques. A favourite of mine is meditating. No, not sitting cross-legged and making hum noises. I have an app, called ‘Calm’, and it plays nice sounds (you can choose from loads) as a voice guides you through the meditation. They last from 3 minutes to 8 hours (honestly, who has the time?) but I normally use the 5 or 10 minute ones.

Eat/Drink something

I’m sure we’ve all heard of comfort food, and it can really make your life that little bit better. While I was at the shop, I picked up a mini fruit-salad, and ate that on the way home.

Look at something that makes you happy

This one’s pretty self-explanatory. Save some pictures of things that make you smile onto your phone. Maybe it’s a nice quote, or a pretty setting? Or that cute celebrity? Whip out your phone and take a look when you’re stressed.

And those were some of the ways that I made the most out of my time away, without going into complete meltdown. Hopefully, you might have picked up a few extra techniques! To end this post, I’ll share one of the quotes I had saved.

Take a step back and inhale.You’re never given anything in this world that you can’t handle. Be strong, be flexible, remember who you are and who loves you.

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

 

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

5 thoughts on “Anxieties Away From Home

Leave a Reply

