Posted in Uncategorized

School So Far

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. With a week of school finally over, I thought it’d be a good time to review and reflect on everything that’s happened so far – trust me, it’s been eventful! First of all, it feels like so much longer than just a week; the holidays feel like so long ago!

Being back on Friday was especially strange, with having to get on a bus for the first time in six weeks, and dealing with waking up several hours earlier than I normally would. Not to mention the fact that there weren’t even three whole year groups in school! Only Year 7s, Year 11s and the Year 10 Peer Mentors come in on the first day back, so school was weirdly quiet!

I shocked Britt with my brace-less teeth, as I’d been waiting to do for weeks. She noticed the instant I opened my mouth, which is strange, since Rachel took at least 20 minutes to realise! It didn’t take anyone that long to get used to it either – apparently I don’t look that different… I definitely thought otherwise right after having them off!

Turns out, Britt and I are actually mentoring the same group of Year 7s, and our teacher that leads the class is also my French teacher, which is awesome! So far, they seem to be a really nice group, too. Although I’m quite sure I wasn’t as small as they are when I was that young… To anyone just starting high school, it flies by. 

I got letters for a trip to Italy on Thursday, and handed it in on Friday, hoping that there are enough places for me to get in. The dilemma is, Britt is still trying to persuade her parents to let her go, so I might have to drop out if she can’t go… Either that or make some other friends that are going on the trip… Which we all know I’m not the best at…

Speaking of making friends, at my school, we split each year group into halves, and have lessons as separate year halves. This year, both have merged for our GCSE choices…. It’s really strange to be with people I’ve never had lessons with, and having to learn everyone’s names is like being in Year 7 again! Except with the reassurance of knowing about half of the people in your class. Certain people I’ll get along with almost instantly, but there’s always them awkward seating plans where you literally say nothing throughout the lesson… :/

Since it’s been a year since it happened, I thought it would be fun to bring back the topic of Theo Thursdays. No, not bring back the posts – just the topic. If you followed within the last year (which the majority of you did), you’ll probably be super confused, unless you’ve explored the realm of my menu bar (it’s just at the top of the page).  Basically, a new kid joined the school, I thought he liked (you know the like) me, which was awkward because I didn’t like him back, and I just wanted to get to the bottom of it. After about 4 weeks, I found out he actually liked Ashley, which was quite the relief. Check out that menu if you’re interested in the whole story!

Flash forward a year and we’re really good friends. It’s strange how things turn out, isn’t it?

Timetable-wise, it’s a lot of “meh”, as Bob would say. When I first looked at it, I wanted to die. Well, that’s a little extreme, but I really wasn’t happy with the teachers I had. For several reasons, actually.

  1. I ended up with the new Geography teacher, and had to leave behind one of my favourite teachers for him to take his place (giant “ugh”)
  2. For a split second, I thought I had my favourite science teacher – turns out, it was his wife… -.-
  3. I didn’t have the same English teacher as last year 😦
  4. I have hardly any classes with people I was hoping to have classes with

A week later, I wasn’t as disappointed with my classes. The science teacher’s wife is actually really nice, and that lesson has been one of my favourites all week. I have a few classes with people I know. My old English teacher isn’t the only good teacher, even if he is the best one. But the geography teacher still is my least favourite of the timetable. #

I’m doing a Sports Leadership course too, this year, that I can have as a qualification, and we get hoodies with our names on, which I am beyond excited for!

And that’s pretty much everything going on this week! Are you back to school yet?

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

3 thoughts on “School So Far

  1. Oh mu god, you’re not with your fav teachers this year? I’m so sorry!! I also want 5 of my last year’s teachers to be my teachers this year, specially my science teacher. I’m like super stressed
    out about that.
    Anyways, I’m sure you’ll do amazingly this year!!!! XD XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

