Posted in Uncategorized

Being Let Down Sucks

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. I could say that I’ve gotten myself into a bit of a dilemma, but that would be a lie, since none of this is my fault. If you haven’t already guessed, today’s post won’t be as happy as mine normally are, but I’m really hoping you can give some advice in the comments!

Truthfully, I’m really not sure how to feel or what I’m feeling right now. I’d say it’s a mix of anger, disappointment and regret. I know, you want to know why I’m feeling this way, and I promise, I’ll get onto it – I just need to figure out how to word it all.

If you read Saturday’s post, you might remember that Britt was trying to persuade her parents to let her go on a school trip to Italy. Well, for almost a year now, we’ve been fantasising about how we’d take home the tiny shower gels, and stay up for hours talking about things that people drunk on tiredness talk about. Running through the list of things that we’d need to take, and the places we’d want to visit, the things we’d want to eat.

With one message, that whole dream was shattered.

“he said no”

For months the question had been: “Will Jatm be able to go?”, and now that it’s finally come around, and I’ve already given in the reply slip, all of a sudden, it’s Britt causing the troubles.

I know it isn’t exactly her fault, but she at least could have said earlier on that she might not have been able to go, right? Or spoken to her parents before the letters got handed out, like I did? Who knows, maybe she could have asked them with a little more enthusiasm and optimism? She was super pessimistic, and negative about the whole thing, waiting days to even ask them, and eventually I was doubting whether or not she even wanted to go.

My problem now, is that I might be going to Italy – without her. I have two options, really.

  1. Withdraw myself from the trip, which will probably mean that I have to sit through a lecture from the geography teacher and miss out on the stuff that wil help us understand the lessons
  2. Go through with it, without her, and make some friends that are actually going

However, if you’ve got the main part of my personality from my blog, you can probably tell that I’m terrible at making friends. I’m way too judgemental (I get it from my mother), I’m a pretty bad conversationalist, and just an all-round awkward person. God knows what stereotypes I’ve been stamped with in school either… It probably doesn’t help that the majority of people will have already made their own friends in the last four years anyway… Is it even worth spending about £500 (that we could really do with not spending, if I’m honest) on a trip where I won’t even be with my best friends?

So, I’ll have to decide pretty soon on what I plan on doing, but I was wondering if any of you have any ideas? Have you ever had to deal with something like this before?

BYE! 😀

Just Average Teen Me

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

3 thoughts on “Being Let Down Sucks

  1. Hiya,
    I went with through a similar situation at a smaller scale. So like we have school on Saturdays, so my friends usually don’t come. This one Saturday, I had to go to school and none of my friends were coming. I begged them to come but they wouldn’t budge. So, I was extremely nervous and freaking out, thinking I would be all alone. But I made 3 new friends and we hung out and had an amazing day. My whole point is that, your whole trip depends on one person. And the point of travel is to meet new people do new things. I know being let down sucks, but you have to go do something for yourself. Anyway I wish you all the best and keep smiling. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

