Posted in blogmas, Uncategorized

BLOGMAS DAY 6 | CHRISTMAS TRADITIONS

Hi,

I’m Just Average Teen Me. Welcome to Blogmas Day 6!

**********************************************

5 DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS!

**********************************************

5 MORE DAYS! We’re so close I can almost hear paper tearing and smell the dinner cooking! Today I thought I’d have a little chat about some of the things my family have done for quite a few years, and share what sort of traditions we have.

Before Christmas

So, during Advent, there’s a bunch of generic Christmas stuff that goes on, like putting up the decorations (which usually happens on my mum’s birthday weekend) and counting down with chocolate advent calendars. But then there’s more oddball stuff like the Christmas candle. We have a candle that we’ve bought every year for the last four (ish?) years, that literally smells like heaven. It’s a Glade Apple and Cinnamon one, and it’s easily one of my favourite scents I’ve ever smelled.

Combined with that, my mum likes to buy huge boxes of nice biscuits, and we usually eat those before Christmas. Except that one time Dakota (my big sister) dropped the entire box onto the floor, smashing each and every biscuit into tiny crumbs… yeah – that happened. I’m guessing you can imagine how catastrophic it was.

There’s also the dreaded Christmas photo, where me and all six of my other siblings have to stand in front of the Christmas tree to have a group photo, that gets sent to just about everyone in the family. As if that isn’t bad enough, we all have to wear Christmas jumpers, which I somehow got out of for the last few years, but not this time… :/

On Christmas

If you have any younger siblings, or remember Christmases when you were a bit younger, you’ll know that sleep means literally nothing to kids under about 11. Without fail, at 3am every Christmas morning, there is a kid up. But then that kid decides to go wake up the other kids, and then there’s 5 kids running around upstairs at THREE IN THE  FREAKING MORNING. Look, I’m as big a fan of Christmas as most people are (I bloody love it) but nothing will make me happily get out of bed that early.

By about 6am, we’re all allowed downstairs, which is still a little too early if you ask me, but hey – it’s not 3am. We walk down the stairs in age order (cringey, I know), meaning that Dakota and I are stuck at the back, and can’t see what the other siblings are gawping at on their way down.

For Christmas breakfast, we usually have my dad’s own version of Egg McMuffins, which is basically the same as the McDonald’s ones. Until about 3pm, we have the day to do whatever we want, within the house. At 3pm, though, we usually start Christmas dinner – the usual: turkey, stuffing, pigs in blankets (my all-time favourite part of the dinner). You get the idea.

At around 6pm, we head off to my Grandma and Grandad’s house, where we meet the cousins, aunties and uncles, as well as Grandma and Grandad, of course. We exchange gifts and lurk around for a bit. After then it’s home time, where we’ll relax until we head off to bed.

That’s what usually happens before and on Christmas! What are some of your family traditions?

*******************

Happy Blogmas!

*******************

Just Average Teen Me

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

Leave a Reply

