Posted in Uncategorized

2017 – READY. ACTION!

Hi,

I’m Awkwardsaurus. We’re four days into 2017, or the year that looks like a robot death machine, as Rachel describes it, and it hasn’t quite sunk in that when I go back to school, I’ll have to write 2017, instead of 2016.

Now that I guess you could say the year is kicking off into full swing, I thought I’d just do a little post looking forward to everything that will and might happen in the next year.

First off, I’m turning 15 this year. If you didn’t already know my age, then well, I’m 14, in Year 10, which I think would be the equivalent to freshman year at an American high school. I was just discussing with Bob actually, about how it’s so crazy that we start Year 11 in September (the oldest year of UK high schools) and how we still feel like we should be in Year 5. 15 just sounds old if you ask me, and I know to some of you it’ll sound young, especially if you’re older, which I know some of you are.

Just before my birthday, though, I’ll have mock exams. If you’re outside of the UK, you might not know what they are, or do other countries call them mocks too? Anyway, they’re basically practice GCSEs (big exams at the end of high school) but they’re used for grades for that year as well as a backup in case you miss the actual exams. So, obviously that’ll mean a lot of revision, even over my birthday. Exams last a week, starting on Ashley’s birthday. 😦

She’s four days younger than me, by the way! 😀

Flash a little further forward to April, and I’m going to see Shawn Mendes live for the Illuminate Tour! Ashley’s parents bought tickets for her birthday, so we’re both super excited about that! Although I’m pretty sure it’ll involve an emotional breakdown on Ashley’s behalf, since she’s seeing her future husband for the first time 😀

As the school year comes to a close, we’ll have our last travel day (in year 11, we’ll be on study leave, so we don’t go), which will be to Pleasure Beach in Blackpool, as it is every year. I’m super excited, and also clinging on to hope that the photographer from last July and November will still be there! ❤

After then, I’ll be preparing for a school trip to Italy. I’m kind of terrified, for so many reasons:

  1. I’m not going with any of my closest friends, since none of them signed up to go (it’ll make more sense if you read —> this post <—)
  2. I haven’t been abroad since I was four years old…
  3. So I haven’t been on a plane since I was four either…
  4. And on top of that, I have a fear of heights and I’m uncomfortable in small spaces
  5. FINALLY, this whole time I’ll have to stay completely chill because Flynn will be there. 😮

So, I guess you get the gist. 😀

But I am super excited, since I’ve been looking forward to it for so long, and it’ll be a chance to go out and adventure, while seeing some amazing landscapes and cultures! We climb Mt Vesuvius (the one that destroyed Pompeii) and go on a boat trip to the Island of Capri. It sounds so amazing, and I’m hoping the excitement dulls the nerves a little! Although if you have any similar experiences, let me know! 😀

Italy is in October, while we’re off for school holidays, so by that point I’ll be Year 11. There’ll probably be another mock week in December, which I think is the last one before real exams? I’m not sure.

Obviously there’ll be a bunch of other things happening throughout the year, big and small, that I never could have guessed would be happening. After all, there’s no way I could’ve predicted some of the crazy stuff that happened last year!

So, here’s to 2017, hopefully a year where we fix the situations we’ve got the world into, and start working for a better tomorrow, while enjoying the time we have! ❤

Clink clink, have a great year 😉

Awkwardsauarus

 

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

8 thoughts on “2017 – READY. ACTION!

  1. I’m actually so happy I found your blog, found it today and it’s already one of my faves! I’m 14 too, so I can relate to some of your posts! Also I’m going to Italy next year, so hopefully you’ll blog about your trip! Would actually love to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s really cool that you are going to be able to go to Italy! I’ve been on a plane too many times to count so don’t worry about it. It barely feels like your moving once you get in the air! I actually really love to fly. Hope 2017 is awesome for you:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this post, I couldn’t agree more!! XD You’re 14? I’m 14 too omg!! XD I’m also going on a trip with school, but we’re going to London. And I haven’t gone on a plane since a year and months ago but I’m pretty used to being on a plane so… I hope your nerves don’t bother you on the plane!! And it’s so cool that you’re going to Italy, I’ve never been there but I’d love to!!! XD XD
    Happy 2017, I hope this year brings you joy and fun experiences!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

