Posted in Uncategorized

A Pledge To My Skin

Hi dudes (I use dudes as a gender neutral term, for any girls wondering)

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a  few days, and now seems like a good time so here goes…

Since I was young, and started to see my first spots, zits, pimples – whatever you call them, my mum always taught me that they had to be gotten rid of. Her method of that was popping them. 

As much as I hated it, she’d be determined to get it off my face, and as far as I knew, it’d be gone soon enough. 

Flash forward around seven years later, and I really wish she’d never given me that mindset. I’ve now got a habit of popping spots when I see them in the mirror, often several in a small timeframe. 

But they don’t just go away once it’s done; they become red, and irritated, forming scabs and all-round looking even more obvious than they did before. 

Not to mention, it can cause more breakouts once the stuff has touched your skin..

That’s why I wish my mum hadn’t taught me it was the way to deal with it.

Why am I writing this post now? Well, during the holidays, I’ve been trying to keep my skin clear, which is difficult, but was going fairly well up until last night. I’d managed to stop myself from popping any for about five days, which is pretty good for me, but all that work is gone now. I have red blemishes across my forehead again.

Im hoping that putting this out there will have some sort of effect on how well I keep this, but I’d like to make a pledge here on my blog. That way, it’s more real, and I have to stick to it.

Dear skin, I promise to be gentle with you: not popping or picking and making sure to wash twice a day.

There we have it. Thanks for listening! And I’ll keep you updated 🙂

Awkwardsaurus

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

3 thoughts on “A Pledge To My Skin

  1. I loved this! XD Lately I’ve been washing my face twice a day, moisturizing it and blah, blah, blah… I’m still getting pimples! *cries* I guess it doesn’t stop from pimples to grow. Not that I care so much, but they’re just so itchy!!!!
    Again, great post!!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

