Posted in Uncategorized

HAIRCARE 101


It’s me again, Awkwardsaurus 🙂

I’m trying to get back on top of posting as frequently as I can, so if you’re confused by more regular posting then this is why. 

(Editing note: I’ve had this post drafted for ages and I know, at this point in time REGULAR POSTING HAHA WHAT IS THAT?)

Anyways, my Sims is loading (Sims 3 if you’re interested), so I thought I’d pass the time by writing another post. 

Ever since being about seven or eight, I’ve had longer than average hair. Currently, it goes down to about two inches above my hips, so frankly, there’s a lot of it to deal with. 
In this post, I’ll be sharing some of my (extremely unprofessional and 100% personal experience/opinion-based) insight on the world of hair. 😀

Know Your Hair Type

Before you go out and try products or methods to look after your locks, it’s important to know what type of hair you actually have. It’s similar to skin types, most falling into either dry, oily or normal. If you find yourself having to wash your hair often because it gets greasy quickly, chances are you have oily hair. If you’re the opposite, and it takes a few days to build up oils, you probably have dry hair (hello, me too). If neither seem to fit, then you might have normal hair.

Buy Shampoo Designed for Your Hair Type

Don’t be wary to buy Shampoo with rather long names or claims. Mine’s the L’oréal Elvive Extraordinary Oil Nourishing Shampoo for Very Dry, Dull, Rebellious Hair. How’s that for a title? The point is, you shouldn’t be intimidated by all the words and end up buying a simple looking shampoo that doesn’t suit your hair type. Trust me, you’ll know when you find one that does!

Turn Down the Heat

Straighteners, curling irons, hairdryers. They’re all pretty hot. Sure, you can’t exactly cut out straighteners or curlers from your life if you’re a frequent user, but hairdryers usually have a heat setting. The coldest one is impractical, since it takes about 5 years to dry all of my hair, but the middle setting is the compromise I settle for. With styling tools, make sure you protect your hair with a heat protector!

Be Gentle

I once read a saying that said to treat your hair like it’s your best silk dress. I can’t remember when I came across it, but it’s stuck in my head ever since. Don’t tug it violently when you’re brushing out tangles; don’t scrub it aggressively with a towel; and try not to have it constantly in tight styles (I know that one’s tough when you literally live in ponytails).

Sleep With Hair Down

Tying (hehe puns) in with my last point, too much straining of your hair causes the strands to point in unnatural directions, essentially stunting their growth. If you want to grow out your hair, it’s definitely a good idea to give the bobbles a break and take it down while you sleep!

Get it Cut!!!

Without getting your hair cut, you’ll develop split ends, which – for those of you that aren’t aware – are hairs that have, well, split down the centre and become two thinner ends. Cutting your hair keeps it healthy, and prevents it from splitting!

And those are some of my tips! What are some of your hair hacks?

Awkwardsaurus​

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

3 thoughts on “HAIRCARE 101

Leave a Reply

