Posted in Uncategorized

An Optimist Amongst Pessimists

Hey… I’m writing this super late, since it’s actually past midnight here in the UK.
Within my friendship group, there’s been all sorts of dramas in the last week, and I’ll definitely get another post up soon to explain it all and whatnot, but for now, it’s probably useful to know that there’s been a slight fall out between two halves of our group. 

SO, naturally, the majority of our group are pretty bummed about it. As I’ll explain in the next post, I’m not so much affected since I managed to KEEP MY HEAD OUT OF THE DRAMA (apologies, ahem.) but the rest of the girls in our group seem to have took a big hit from it. 

Bare in mind, this all began last Saturday, and escalated rapidly on Wednesday. Friday (although now it’s Saturday) rolled around and my friends are being painfully pessimistic.

Before I get into the details, I’ll mention that I’m an optimist. I’m a positive thinker, I firmly believe that everything happens with purpose, that nothing is entirely bad and that everything will turn out good in the end. 

My friends however, are quite the opposite. They seem to let one negative thing outrule the entire year of good memories we’ve had in Year 10, saying that “Life is so shit” and “I thought this year would be better”, to which I replied saying that life isn’t bad, and that they were just ignoring all the good that had happened this year.

Just because I don’t outwardly show sadness or pain in person or through dramatic paragraphs, doesn’t mean I don’t ever feel it, so what Britt replied tugged my nerves a little. She’d said that my life is all fine and happy, seemingly implying that everything to happen for me is all sunshine and rainbows. Any frequent reader of this blog will fully understand that that’s not the case. The difference is, as an overall, I try to focus on the things that make me happy. You’ll know that this year I’ve dealt with a lot, including the separation of our friendship group recently. 

“Nothing bad has happened to you this year”. To assume that someone has it perfectly, is a hundred percent unreasonable, if you ask me. So by this point, I was getting a little annoyed and ended up saying “JUST FOCUS ON THE GOOD JESUS WHERE IS YOUR OPTIMISM?”. She replied with “What good?”. 

I understand that people might have stuff going on that we don’t know about, and that it’s perfectly reasonable to feel down from time to time (as we all do), but to blatantly ignore all the times you’ve laughed until you couldn’t breathe, smiled so hard your jaw hurt and physically not been able to hold back from making a little inside joke or smirk is just unfair. Unfair on all the people that would then feel as if they aren’t good enough for you. If nothing is good, then surely that means the friendships aren’t good either?

Being a positive person, surrounded by so much negativity is getting to me a little, and I’m feeling slightly squashed so I needed to have a little rant on here. 

Thank you for listening, and if anyone is hurt by anything I’ve said, I’m sorry.

Awkwardsaurus

Author:

Hi, I'm an anonymous British blogger, hiding behind the name Awkwardsaurus. I'm a fan of Sherlock, which you should probably know. Oh, and I'm the kind of person that replies with "you too" when someone says "happy birthday". Hope to see you around ;)

2 thoughts on “An Optimist Amongst Pessimists

  1. As someone working on being more positive, I am envious that you maintain an optimistic outlook. Don’t ever stop that or feel weird for being around less-positive people, as it will help you in life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

